Five Tibetan Rites of Rejuvenation

The Five Tibetan Rites is a yoga routine that is based on ritual exercises discovered 1900’s. They are practiced around the world and are said to prevent aging. Developed by Tibetan monks who believed that the body has seven centers/chakras. These chakras revolve at great speed in a healthy body. When we grow old or are living an unhealthy life these chakras slow down. They believed that to regain health, youth and vitality you need to get these centers spinning again. They came up with five ‘Rites’ that will do this in the most efficient way.

These Rites consists of 5 movements, each movement performed up to 21 times. It is best to start with 3 then go up to 6 and so on. The entire sequence can be completed in less than 10 minutes, so it’s easy to incorporate it in your daily routine.

It is important to incorporate your breathing while performing the Rites. Each exercise should be a conscious synchronization of breathing while performing physical activity. You should be breathing in and out of your nose the whole time. No exercise should be so intense so that you loose your breath, this indicates the your body is in a low oxygen state and you should slow down. You should be able to talk after performing an exercise. The main focus should be on the flow of the breath and fluency rather than speed and number of exercises. 

Doing these exercises will significantly increase your energy and make you;
- Feel calmer, develop mental clarity and feel more centered
- Stronger and more flexible
- Help with depression and anxiety
- Improve your breathing
- Give you better posture
- Develop good core strength
- Improve your digestion
- Feel younger and more powerful
- Improve your overall health

This video explains the Rites well:

1. Spinning
Extend your arms to the sides and spin around in a clockwise direction Go as fast as you can without loosing control or get dizzy.

2. Leg Raises
Lay on the floor and fully extend your arms along your sides with your palms facing the floor. Raise your head off the floor tucking the chin, as you do this lift your straight legs into a vertical position. (do not let the knees bend). Then slowly lower both the head and legs to the floor. Allow the muscles to relax. Breathe in deeply as you lift and breathe out as you lower your legs.

3. Back bend
Kneel on the floor, knees under your hips, toes flat or tucked under. You can place your hands on your lower back for support. Tilt your body backwards and return to the original position. Inhale as you arch the spine, exhale as you return to the starting position.

4. Tabletop
Sit on the floor with your legs extended and feet flexed, hip width apart. Palms should be flat on the floor next to your hips. Tilt the head backwards and at the same time bend your knees and push up to a tabletop position. Return to sitting position. Inhale as you raise up and exhale as you come down.

5. Down Dog to High Plank
Begin on all fours, toes flexed and palms on the floor, with the weight distributed evenly among your knees, palms and balls of your feet. Your hands and feet should be kept straight during this whole exercise. Go from your Downward Facing Dog position into a high plank position. Inhale on your way up to Down Dog and exhale into High Plank.


Images from Pintrest.